Cobb County DUI Law
2551 Roswell Road
Marietta, GA 30062
IF YOU HAVE BEEN ARRESTED FOR DUI, YOU ONLY HAVE 10 DAYS TO SAVE YOUR LICENSE.
Seeking legal assistance is vital if you or someone you know is facing a drug or alcohol related DUI charge in the Cobb County area. With my experience as a Marietta DUI lawyer, I can offer tenacious and thorough representation in Cobb County area DUI cases. I can also provide services to clients in Cherokee, Douglas, DeKalb, Fulton, Forsyth, Gwinnett, Henry Clayton, Pickens, Paulding and Rockdale counties.
Thanks to previous experience as a prosecutor, Attorney Robert Webb understands the ways in which DUI cases are built. This understanding is the source of critical insight regarding how to challenge those cases. Contacting our firm for an initial consultation about your case is vital.
It is important to be aware of the penalties for DUI convictions and how they change after subsequent convictions. With a first conviction in a 10 year period, there is a minimum sentence of 12 months. The first 10 days of the sentence is typically served in custody, but the judge may suspend or probate all except the last 24 hours. The remainder of the 12 months is to be served on probation. There is also a fine, and surcharges might also apply. The fine will be a minimum of $300 and a maximum of $1000.
You can also expect to attend and satisfactorily complete a Risk Reduction Course. In common terms, this is known as DUI School. A minimum of 40 hours of community service must also be completed, and you will undergo a substance abuse evaluation. Your driving privileges in Georgia will be suspended, but it is possible to obtain a limited driving permit upon completion of the Risk Reduction Course. The course must be completed within 120 days, and circumstances must be permitting.
For a second DUI conviction in a 10 year period, the minimum sentence is also 12 months. In this case, however, 90 days is to be served in custody. The judge may suspend or probate all except the last 72 hours. The remainder of the full sentence is typically served on probation. As with a first conviction, there are surcharges and fines. The minimum fine is $600, and the maximum is $1000. Attendance and completion of a Risk Reduction Course is again required, and community service mandatory. With a second conviction, 240 hours of community service must be completed. You will also undergo a substance abuse evaluation again.
Limited driving permits are not available to those convicted a second time in a 10 year period. Your driving privileges in Georgia could be suspended for up to 18 months, but an ignition interlock device might enable you to have your driver's license reinstated after 12 months. Longer suspensions of privileges apply when the second conviction is within a 5 year period. You must also surrender the license plates for all vehicles you own. Additionally, you will have your picture published in the newspaper for the county in which you were arrested.
A third conviction in a 10 year period is called a high and aggravated misdemeanor. The minimum sentence is 12 months. In this case, 120 days is served in custody. The judge may probate or suspend all except the last 15 days, and the remainder is to be served on probation. In addition to applicable surcharges, the fine is a minimum of $1000 and a maximum of $5000.
The community service requirement is a minimum of 240 hours, and there is another substance abuse evaluation. Your driving privileges in Georgia could be revoked for 5 years, and no limited permit is possible. A probationary license, however, may be available after 2 years. The longer period of having your license revoked applies when your third conviction is within 5 years of your first and second. An ignition interlock device must be installed on your vehicle, and you must surrender the license plates for all vehicles you own. You will also have your picture published in the newspaper for the county in which you were arrested.
To best help you with your case, it is important that you talk to us about the specific circumstances of your DUI charges. Attorney Robert Webb provides exceptional services as a Cobb County DUI lawyer by working closely with clients. If you have been involved in a DUI in the Marietta vicinity, contact the firm at Cobb County DUI Law today.